This guide highlights sources that discuss, "...intangible rights protecting commercially valuable products of the human intellect" (Black's Law Dictionary, 9th ed.) including Copyright, Patent, and Trademark Law.
Registration for Wolters Kluwer IntelliConnect is not required since it is IP specific. However, you will need to authentic using your University of Memphis log on information to access IntelliConnect if you are not in the Law School building.
Access to IntelliConnect is IP specific. Off campus access requires you to authenticate through the University proxy server.
IntelliConnect IP Content
The titles below link to IntelliConnect and the publication. Authentication may be required.
Guide to Computer Law
A comprehensive resource focusing on computer law, the Internet, and related issues, including copyrights, trademarks, licensing, e-commerce, privacy, security, patents, communications, e-mail and electronic evidence at both the federal and state levels. Coverage includes relevant federal laws, regulations, and full-text of court decisions. The Guide to Computer Law provides CCH explanations and annotations with links to all court decisions on point. Monthly updates
Trademark Law Reporter
A comprehensive resource covering the laws and rules regulating trademark law at both the federal and state levels. Coverage includes federal and state laws, federal regulations, pending legislation, U.S. Supreme Court docket; court decisions; and agency advisory and adjudicative determinations. The reporter provides the full text of the Lanham Trademark Act of 1946, as amended; U.S. Patent and Trademark Office regulations; the PTO's Trademark Manual of Examining Procedure; the Trademark Trial and Appeal Board Manual of Procedure; and the trademark statutes of all 50 states. It also includes CCH explanations that discuss, summarize, and coordinate law, rule interpretations, and court decisions. In addition, the reporter provides the full text of court opinions and selected administrative decisions by the Trademark Trial and Appeal Board. Monthly updates
Patent Reform Law - Leahy-Smith America Invents Act, Section 1. Short Title & Table of Contents.
(a) Short Title .—This Act may be cited as the "Leahy-Smith America Invents Act".
(b) Table of Contents.—The table of contents for this Act is as follows: Sec. (1) Short title; table of contents. Sec. (2) Definitions. Sec. (3) First inventor to file. Sec. (4) Inventor's oath or declaration. Sec. (5) Defense to infringement based on prior commercial use. Sec. (6) Post-grant review proceedings. Sec. (7) Patent Trial and Appeal Board. Sec. (8) Preissuance submissions by third parties. Sec. (9) Venue. Sec. (10) Fee setting authority. Sec. (11) Fees for patent services. Sec. (12) Supplemental examination. Sec. (13) Funding agreements. Sec. (14) Tax strategies deemed within the prior art. Sec. (15) Best mode requirement. Sec. (16) Marking. Sec. (17) Advice of counsel. Sec. (18) Transitional program for covered business method patents. Sec. (19) Jurisdiction and procedural matters. Sec. (20) Technical amendments. Sec. (21) Travel expenses and payment of administrative judges. Sec. (22) Patent and Trademark Office funding. Sec. (23) Satellite offices. Sec. (24) Designation of Detroit satellite office. Sec. (25) Priority examination for important technologies. Sec. (26) Study on implementation. Sec. (27) Study on genetic testing. Sec. (28) Patent Ombudsman Program for small business concerns. Sec. (29) Establishment of methods for studying the diversity of applicants. Sec. (30) Sense of Congress. Sec. (31) USPTO study on international patent protections for small businesses. Sec. (32) Pro bono program. Sec. (33) Limitation on issuance of patents. Sec. (34) Study of patent litigation. Sec. (35) Effective date. Sec. (36) Budgetary effects. Sec. (37) Calculation of 60-day period for application of patent term extension.
Title 37 C.F.R. – Patents, Trademarks & Copyrights
CHAPTER I – U.S. Patent and Trademark Office, Department of Commerce
CHAPTER II – Copyright Office Library of Congress
CHAPTER III – Copyright Royalty Board, Library of Congress
CHAPTER IV – Assistant Secretary for Technology Policy
CHAPTER V – Under Secretary for Technology, Department of Commerce
This link takes you to the main page of IntelliConnect. Select Intellectual Property to access Copyright Law Reporter. Click the plus sign to view Intellectual Property titles. Select Copyright Law Reporter and click the plus sign to see contents.
Copyright Law Reporter
A comprehensive resource focusing only on copyright law and related issues at both the federal and state levels. Coverage includes federal regulations, a complete text of the copyright laws, pending legislation; U.S. Supreme Court docket, full-text of court decisions, copyright circulars and reference materials, and administrative forms. The reporter provides CCH explanations that discuss and summarize court decisions. Monthly updates.