LibGuides: Getting Started- Sources And Techniques for Legal Research: Library Resources

All of the resources below are accessible on site at the library. Digital resources are available through our guest terminals on the ground floor of the library, near the circulation & reference desk. Print items can be used while in the library but should not be removed. If you do not currently have a University of Memphis ID, and would like to come in to use any of these materials, please fill out an access request form.

Print Resources

Black's Law Dictionary by Bryan A. Garner, chief editor
Call Number: KF156 .B53 2024
ISBN: 9798350290905
Publication Date: 2024
The Bluebook by Harvard Law Review Association (Compiled by); Columbia Law Review (Compiled by); University of Pennsylvania Law Review (Compiled by); The Yake Law Journal (Compiled by)
ISBN: 9780578666150
Publication Date: 2020-05-20
A Uniform System of Citation: The Bluebook is the definitive style guide for legal citation in the United States. For generations, law students, lawyers, scholars, judges, and other legal professionals have relied on The Bluebook's uniform system of citation in their writing. In a diverse and rapidly changing legal profession, The Bluebook continues to provide a systematic method by which members of the profession communicate important information to one another about the sources and legal authorities upon which they rely in their work.

University Databases

These online resources require either a valid UM user name and password, or the use of our public terminals located on the ground floor of the library.

Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The Legal tab of Nexis Uni provides access to a variety of useful legal materials- Caselaw, statutory and administrative codes, (including the USCS, Lexis's annotated version of the U.S. Code) law reviews, and access to Shepard's Citator, an important tool for checking if the case you just found is still good law.
Fastcase This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Fastcase offers access to state & federal cases and codes, court rules, and a selection of secondary sources.
HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Hein Online is a key resource for legal historical research. It provides excellent law journal coverage and a selection of historical and current treatises and bibliographies. Hein is also an excellent source for research into legislative or administrative issues, with full collections of the major government newspapers (i.e. The Congressional Record).
Legaltrac This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
LegalTrac is a highly up to date database covering new developments in legal scholarship.