With Serials Solutions and the Innovative Interfaces ERM module, the first step is to get a report from Serials Solutions.
How to generate a new On Demand report in Serials Solutions: From the Serials Solutions Home screen, click on Client Center at the top and login. Under Manage Your Data|Business Intelligence Tools| Select Data On Demand.
Select Generate New Report, with the Report Encoding as UTF-8 and Subjects Format as CSV without Subjects. Select Journals content, and uncheck the box for Split File. If we only need to do a partial load with a few databases, we can download a title list for each database from their individual Database Details page.
The database name (provider) must match Database ID exactly. The ISSN/Journal name match for coverage. To check for this, log in to Serials Solutions to search the e-catalog. Set tabs to database, search for name, and be sure the status is “subscribed”. Not all databases are included in Serials Solutions. BNA Premier Package, HeinOnline, ProQuest, lawschool full-text (Westlaw), Bloomberg Law, LexisNexis law school, Legaltrac, and Wolters Kluwer (CCH Intelliconnect) are included.
The law school subscribes to several databases which are not included by Serials Solutions: Chronical of Higher Education, Current Index to Legal Periodicals, Fastcase, Health Affairs, Legal Reference Services Quarterly, Tennessee Attorneys Directory, Tennessee Attorney's Memo, and U.S. Supreme Court Records and Briefs, 1832-1978 (part of the Making of Modern Law).
The report from Serials Solutions will be in Excel format. This file will have McWherter and Law subscriptions. Headings needed for spreadsheet are: TITLE, ISSN, eISSN, START_DATE, END_DATE, PROVIDER, URL
Cleanup the excel document:
· McWherter deletes government documents
· McWherter removes print and microform holdings from the list.
· McWherter deletes titles that begin with a ? (Japanese characters in titles changed to question marks)
· Strip out column A “Type”
· Change ISSN field to text only so they don’t become dates
· Get rid of duplicate ID’s in the file by deleting or merging
· Remove 100% duplicates with and then again w/o provider
· Look for pipes in the urls because they will cause errors. Change to %7c
· ProQuest Congressional is kept in McWherter and Law spreadsheets due to the fact that we both subscribe and need separate proxy statements.
Create/separate out the law file:
· Sort by Resource (so that Excel will delete them more quickly).
- Copy out Law titles BNA, HeinOnline, ProQuest Congressional, and Westlaw, Bloomberg. Legaltrac and Lexis. Be sure to retain headings at top of the spreadsheet.
· Check for correct proxy beginnings. (HeinOnline keeps ezproxy. No proxy for Westlaw, Lexis, and Bloomberg. Reservedesk proxy for BNA, Legaltrac, and Proquest.)
After clean up, save as a .csv file to the desktop. Call it something like Law_Nov2012
